Announcing the new Kindle Giveaway! Enter to Win

More eBooks. Less Money.

Get discount Kindle books like Tears of the Silenced: A True Crime and an American Tragedy; Severe Child Abuse and Leaving the Amish delivered to you:
Tears of the Silenced: A True Crime and an American Tragedy; Severe Child Abuse and Leaving the Amish
by Misty Griffin

"The severity of sexual abuse in ultra-strict Christian churches has been an open secret for too long. When will our nation address this problem? Will it ever?"-Misty Griffin 

In 2005, the Amish bishop who had assaulted Misty Griffin avoided arrest by crossing the border into Canada. 

When I was six years old my family started dressing like the Amish, it was the beginning of a nightmare. A few years later we moved to a mountain ranch where my sister and I were subjected to almost complete isolation, sexual abuse, and extreme physical violence.

In my late teens, my parents feared we would escape and took us to an Amish community where we were adopted and became baptized members. I was devastated to once again find myself in a world of fear, sexual abuse, animal cruelty and other crimes. Going to the police was forbidden.

A few years later I was sexually assaulted by the bishop of my church. I knew I had to get help and one morning in early March I made a dash for a tiny police station in rural Minnesota. As a result, I found myself plummeted into the strange modern world with only a 2nd-grade education and no form of identification.
Buy Now
Related Books

On the Winds of Change (Amish Historical Series Book 1)
by Misty Griffin

In the fall of 1878, a newly married Hannah finds herself in an Amish community on the untamed Kansas prairie. A band of Cheyenne Indians have just escaped the Oklahoma reservation and they are headed north. Hannah and her little brother are kidnapped during what would later become known as the Cheyenne Raid. When all hope seems lost an unlikely heroine helps them escape.....

Books in this Series
1. On the Winds of Change
2. Forbidden Heritage more
Forbidden Heritage (Amish Historical Series Book 2)
by Misty Griffin

1897-1906-The stunning news of her mother's capture by Indians 18 years prior slowly reveals that Esther Stoltz is half Cheyenne Indian. This startling revelation leaves her wondering about the heritage she is forbidden to explore.
As a young Amish woman, Esther begins to question the strict ban on modern conveniences such as the telephone, automobile, and electricity. How do Amish church leaders know that these things are evil? Slowly the Amish church and the world around them are growing farther apart and Esther feels pulledin both directions....

Books in this Series
1.On the Winds of... more
Tiny Prisoners: Two siblings trapped in a world of abuse. One woman determined to free them.
by Maggie Hartley

Evie and Elliot are scrawny, filthy and wide-eyed with fear when they turn up on foster carer Maggie Hartley's doorstep. Aged just two and three years old, this brother and sister have hardly set foot outside their own home. They have been prisoners, locked in a terrifying world of abuse, violence and neglect. Maggie soon realises that Evie and Elliot are lacking the basic life skills we all take for granted. The outside world terrifies them; the sound of the doorbell sends them into a panic that takes hours to abate. Gradually unlocking the truth of their heart-breaking upbringing, Maggie... more
The Little Ghost Girl: Abused Starved and Neglected. A Little Girl Desperate for Someone to Love Her
by Maggie Hartley

An abused little girl desperate for someone to love her, and the foster carer who refused to give up on her. A heartbreaking true story by Sunday Times bestselling author Maggie Hartley. Perfect for fans of Cathy Glass, Casey Watson, Angela Hart and Rosie Lewis. ***** Abused, starved and neglected. Ruth was a little ghost of a girl when she arrived into foster mother Maggie Hartley's care.

As soon as Ruth arrived on her doorstep, it was clear to foster carer Maggie Hartley that Ruth had seen and experienced things that no 11-year-old should have to. Pale, frail and withdrawn, Ruth had... more
Stolen Innocence: My Story of Growing Up in a Polygamous Sect, Becoming a Teenage Bride, and Breaking Free of Warren Jeffs
by Elissa WallLisa Pulitzer

“Both creepy…and quite moving.”
— New York Times Book Review “Wall’s story couldn’t be more timely.”
— People Stolen Innocence is the gripping New York Times bestselling memoir of Elissa Wall, the courageous former member of Utah’s infamous FLDS polygamist sect whose powerful courtroom testimony helped convict controversial sect leader Warren Jeffs in September 2007. At once shocking, heartbreaking, and inspiring, Wall’s story of subjugation and survival exposes the darkness at the root of this rebel offshoot of the Mormon faith.
“Both creepy…and quite moving.”
— New York Times Book Review “... more
The Hospital: How I survived the secret child experiments at Aston Hall
by Barbara O'Hare

The Sunday Times top ten bestseller...

'Nobody knew what was going on behind those doors. We were human toys. Just a piece of meat for someone to play with.'

Barbara O'Hare was just 12 when she was admitted to the psychiatric hospital, Aston Hall, in 1971. From a troubled home, she'd hoped she would find sanctuary there. But within hours, Barbara was tied down, drugged with sodium amytal - a truth-telling drug - and then abused by its head physician, Dr Kenneth Milner.

The terrifying drug experimentation and relentless abuse that lasted throughout her stay damaged her for life. But somehow,... more
RUSSIAN MOSAIC: The True Story of a Girl from the Russian North
by Olga Kane

Russian Mosaic is the true story of a young girl from a Russian mining town above the Arctic Circle, whose coming of age is marked by tragedy and hardship, but ultimately survival. She spent her childhood and college years under the structured control of the state. With always a bit of rebellion for the lack of freedom and self-expression, she learned to “play along” to get by. As a young adult, she witnessed the fall of communism and the Soviet Union, and with it, the change of lifestyle for all Russians. The daughter of a miner father and an accountant mother, Olga endures a number of... more
Maude
by Donna Foley Mabry

In 1906, I was barely over fourteen years old, and it was my wedding day. My older sister, Helen, came to my room, took me by the hand, and sat me down on the bed. She opened her mouth to say something, but then her face flushed, and she turned her head to look out the window. After a second, she squeezed my hand and looked back in my eyes. She said, “You’ve always been a good girl, Maude, and done what I told you. Now, you’re going to be a married woman, and he will be the head of the house. When you go home tonight after your party, no matter what he wants to do to you, you have to let... more
The Bigamist: the true story of a husband's ultimate betrayal
by Mary Turner Thomson

In April 2006, Mary Turner Thomson received a call that blew her life apart. The woman on the other end of the line told her that Will Jordan, Mary's husband and the father of her two younger children, had been married to her for fourteen years and they had five children together.

The Bigamist is the shocking true story of how one man manipulated an intelligent, independent woman, conning her out of 200,000 and leaving her to bring up the children he claimed he could never have.

It's a story we all think could never happen to us, but this shameless con man has been doing the same thing to... more
Escape
by Carolyn JessopLaura Palmer

The dramatic first-person account of life inside an ultra-fundamentalist American religious sect, and one woman’s courageous flight to freedom with her eight children.

When she was eighteen years old, Carolyn Jessop was coerced into an arranged marriage with a total stranger: a man thirty-two years her senior. Merril Jessop already had three wives. But arranged plural marriages were an integral part of Carolyn’s heritage: She was born into and raised in the Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (FLDS), the radical offshoot of the Mormon Church that had settled in small... more